Missed the closing ceremonies for the
London Games, and have to say I did not see much of the 2012 Olympiad, However
all the athletes who attended should be proud of themselves.
However to me in many of the competitions
something seemed to be missing... It took me a while to pin it down then it
came to me.
I was reminded of a great story from the
2011 Stanley Cup Finals. After Vancouver won the first two games at home the
series moved to Boston where the Bruins dominated both games. After one of the
games the Vancouver players went out for a team dinner in Boston, the
restaurant owner upon finding out they were players from the Vancouver Canucks
refused to serve them and actually said the restaurant was "out of
food", the Vancouver players left hungry and crestfallen I’m sure.
You can call this petty or small minded,
you can call it pride in your home town and your team, or you can just call it
hatred. Temporary hate for an opponent, but hatred none the less. You battle
hard, play on the edge of the rule book and when it's all over you line up and
shake hands.
From the limited amount of what I saw -
with the exception of the Canada/US soccer game - this emotion seemed to be
lacking in The Games. Countries were way too polite to each other (it was
before my time but in the 1950's when Hungary played the Soviet Union in water
polo the Hungarians were furious at the 1956 Soviet invasion of their homeland
and it was war in the pool! There was literally blood in the water when it was
over - that game really meant something to Hungarian pride and it showed in
their furious and passionate play).
Now technically at that time Hungary and
the USSR were Warsaw Pact Allies arrayed against NATO and the West. However it
is a truism that for some strange reason, countries that are political,
military and economic allies seem to have the fiercest rivalries. The same for
cities take the New York Rangers, New Jersey Devils rivalry, situated across a
river from each other there have been times when blood was being scraped off
the ice five minutes into the game. You can be sure no one left their seats for
popcorn during those on ice fireworks.
I don't know if in any team sport this
Olympics if the UK played any team sports against the United States or France.
Brits go on constantly about a "special relationship" with The United
States, which many Americans frankly just don't get. For Heaven's sake the two
countries were actually making plans to go to war against each other until the
1930's!
If I were the American team I'd save any
praise for London until after the games were over and they were back home, I'd
bar any UK athletes from the US Olympic Village, refuse to lower the Stars and
Stripes for the queen (I mean what was the Revolution about anyway?), and
generally talk smack about Britain being an old has been of a country pining
for a lost empire and sucking up to the US at every chance it gets. The Yanks
should have been bragging "we came over in World War Two to save your
asses and now were here to save your Olympics".
The Brits should be giving it right back
calling Americans crude Netherlands, spoiled children of empire who ran away
from home and then can't help fawning all over the royalty they once rejected.
And just like that restaurant in Boston, any time the home team was competing
against the Americans, local pub owners should "run out of ale" when
American athletes came by. Show some pride over profits.
No comments:
Post a Comment